Production gems

Where we discuss film, television, books, theater, games, and of course music, concerts, and artists. Anyone can view, any member can contribute.

Topic author
Guy Rowland

Production gems

Post by Guy Rowland »

A thread to celebrate amazing arrangements, productions and mixes over the years. Anything from any genre, from subtle to OTT that really gets your motor running, and the things you love about it.

=======

I did a Lite subscription on the Mix With The Masters (not to be confused with Mastering The Mix) tutorial series ($99 for 4 video series across the year). They really do have some spectacular heavyweights - film composers as well as pop producers. I just had to get my hands on Jeff Bhasker's series on Uptown Funk. Here's the trailer, which is pretty entertaining in its own right:

From the first blast I heard on the kitchen radio, I knew Uptown Funk was a classic. As Jeff points out, funk wasn't very popular back then, but of course it was just lying dormant to be awakened by this colossus. It was all so perfect, the groove, every lick and turn of phrase. The whole track builds to the final 45 seconds which are completely absurd. It actually makes me laugh for the sheer exuberant musical joy of it. Everything goes to 11 - the transition to the offbeat ride cymbal, those brass, bass and drum licks, the everything.

Woebetide any radio DJ that plays the cut down version.

Although it sounds like an effortless crowd-pleaser, it actually has no obvious chorus at all - the vocal drops out to feature two alternating synth chords (actually just a single chord with one note changing). And I learned today that it was a very long way from effortless - from the first jam to final mix it took a year. They knew they had something special after a rough jam, but wanted to make every single element pop. There are so many vocal hooks, calls and responses that make it irresistible. There's interest in almost every bar, always some new element or twist.